Magazine Spread Honorable Mention

21 Jun

Though I did not find any layout designs in this week’s Bloomberg Businessweek that were as striking and innovative as the one pointed out by type eh? last week, I did find one worth a quick mention.  Below is the layout design of an article entitled “Botnet Busters” with comic book-like illustrations by Jiro Bevis.

I was delighted when I flipped the page a found this, as it was a true standout piece in this issue. The illustrations are bright and flashy with an almost 1980’s or early 90’s feel. The black bars used as a design element work to give the piece a contrasting modern feel which works well. I think the reason I enjoy it so much is that it is not at all what I would expect to see in a business or financial magazine. In fact, I was a bit pleasantly surprised that Bloomberg Businessweek overall had relatively progressive layout designs in relation to my false preconceptions of the subject matter. I have to say, I would pick this magazine up again.

 


Leave a Reply

